Tags

, , ,

This past Monday was supposed to be my first day back to work after a two week break. I had big plans. Plans that were ditched sometime late Sunday night when the Little Butt succumbed to the Creeping Crud that’s been going around, puking all over himself, his crib, his room, and his lovey, Silky Bear. (This is reason 597 why our next child will have several matching loveys, each one suffering equal wear and tear.)

By 11:30, I knew a 5:30 wake-up time *might* not be a reality. The real reality turned out to be exhaustion, nausea, and a headache that I knew didn’t stem from the child who’s cooking.

Sometime around 9am, my BFF set a text Rx. She knows me well, because I was already fretting over the to-do list that wouldn’t be getting done.

Her prescription?

Be KIND to yourself! And say only positive/true things to yourself and those around you! This, too, shall pass.

No one will die or suffer too greatly if I sit on the couch and watch cartoons with my sick kiddo most of the day. (Well, the house will suffer, but we’ll live.) In fact, if I’d listened to my body sooner, perhaps I wouldn’t have gotten run down enough to get sick.

Whether it’s illness, exhaustion, or something else yanking your chain today, I hope you take this Rx to heart. If you treat yourself well, you’ll be better equipped to help everyone else in your sphere.

