With Easter coming up this week, I thought it would be fun to share what my parents bravely did for their eight children each Easter Eve. As you can imagine in a family of ten, Easter baskets could take up a ton of room and cash, so early on they thought up a brilliant alternative.

Spider web

 Photo by Tina Phillips, courtesy of FreeDigistalPhotos.net

Now, hold on before you decide to judge. While it may sound creepy, this is actually one of my favorite holiday memories. (And just to be fair, some people call it a yarn maze, but spider web sounds much more interesting.)

After most of us were tucked into bed (or confined to our rooms, in later years), Mom and Dad would spend an hour or two and eight different colors of yarn to create a fantastic spider web throughout the main floor of my childhood home. Leaving each ball of yarn at the top of the steps, they went to bed knowing that any child who attempted to go downstairs before the appointed time would risk losing their Easter gift.

When I asked my mom last week where they came up with this idea, she told me this was how her freshman group of sorority sisters found their big sister. Count on my mom to think it’s appropriate to play sorority games with her children on a religious holiday, but whatever.

Since many of these mazes were made back in the day of actual film (the first was created in the late eighties), I sadly cannot find a photo from my childhood. But about eight or so years ago a friend and I decided to reenact the maze for my youngest siblings. This was when I discovered that creating the web is perhaps more fun than navigating one.

SPider web hunt

So if you’re game, grab enough yarn colors for each participant (or if you’re mean, enough skeins of the same color), some super fun gifts for the end of the web, and make this Easter hunt one of your most memorable.

